For writers

I want to make a promise to you, the reader. And I don’t know if I can fulfill it tomorrow, or even the day after that. But I put the bastards of this world on notice that I do not have their best interests at heart. I will try and speak for my reader. That is my promise. And it will be a voice made of ink and rage. – Rum Diary.

I recently saw the movie Rum Diary, and while most of it was forgettable, I heard the quote above and for that alone it was worth it. Isn’t that a great line? I think for many people we put writing in a place we like to visit, we do it on our time off, on our “down time”, but I believe that for many it is more than that.

We put it there maybe because it doesn’t make money for us and so we can’t dedicate as much time and effort as we would like. We put it there because so much in our lives takes so much of our time.

I know usually I write in the mini bio in my blogs that I am:

A father, husband, paramedic, writer, friend.

Why do I describe myself like that if I was a writer, at least in spirit, way before I was any of those other things? Maybe one, father, instantly trumps all others, but the truth is for some of us writing is not just a form of expression but also a form of experiencing.

I’ve often said that I experience things one way when they are happening and another way when I’m writing about them. It’s as if writing doesn’t just allow me to express what I felt at a certain time, it allows me to experience things at a different time.

It makes sense to me why so many people enjoy blogging and even to a lesser extent social media. Everyone is writing. Even if it is in 160 characters or less. Even if it is just to post your status. And I for one love this explosion. I love that I can read a well written blog and experience this writing that I would never have had if I had to rely on publishing companies or “professionals”. I love that we can now publish books in digital format. That we can report on news happening in our area. Or anything that interests us.

So this goes out to all you bloggers, authors. This goes out to all you journalists that write reviews or hard hitting op ed pieces. This goes out to all you vloggers that have made YouTube explode while standard news outlets keep loosing viewers.

Keep up the great work. We are all reading, all of us writers. And we are loving it.

Here’s another quote from Rum Diary:

Oscar Wilde once said, “Nowadays, people know the price of everything, and the value of nothing.”

Here’s me telling all of you there are a very many people that know the value of a well written piece.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

