Call to arms.

I have a dream…..and while it may not be as altruistic as Martin Luther King Jr.s, it is a dream I want to work towards. I firmly believe that we can all be the bearers of change. We can create change out of pure will, hard work, perseverance and focus. I have a dream that we can become more than what we are, we are a profession. We are vital. Let me explain: I have two dreams.

Every man must decide whether he will walk in the light of creative altruism or in the darkness of destructive selfishness. – MLK Jr

Another EMS week has come and gone and as usual it was underwhelming. I don’t know about you guys but we got lunches and a few door prizes. A few extra nods and, “Happy EMS week” that most medics I know scoffed at. So my first dream is that this time next year, when the same EMS week comes along, it will be An Event. A week long celebration of EMS. Of what we do. Of who we are. A celebration of those we have saved, those we have helped.

I cannot do this alone obviously. I live and work in Texas and will help light the fire here, but I will need your help elsewhere. I will need your help everywhere. I see a week of joy spreading thought the EMS community. Let’s be proud of who we are, let’s celebrate. Come on EMS. I know you know how to celebrate!

I am working on a set of videos I will be releasing next year showing the appreciation of patients and their families towards EMS. I am also working on giveaways and prizes to go on throughout the EMS week. More importantly I want the public to understand that for one week I will not be judging medics, I and those that join me will be honoring all of us in this profession.

Obviously there is a lot of work to be done. I am not naive. We need many people to be willing to put in hours, work and maybe even some tears. I already have a few people in mind I will be contacting but I know I’m at the tip of the iceberg. Any ideas, suggestions and volunteer to help will be greatly welcome.

So the first thing to do is start planning on what we have to do to make next EMS week a week to remember.

The second thing I dream is far harder to realize. It is also far more important. I want to improve EMS. Not just a medic or two. But the whole of EMS. From here till next year I hope to help as much as I can. I have a few ideas I’m kicking around and hope to start soon. For now I proclaim this:

To those that love EMS as much as I do, I welcome you to this journey. I will help you as much as I can, I will do what I can with what I have. I also put those that are against EMS on notice, I am not your friend. I will not sit idly by on the sidelines any longer. Let us take a next step. Let us see what we can accomplish in a year.

Then shatter that record the following.

“the people that are trying to make the world worse never take a day off , why should I? Light up the darkness” – Bob Marley

Let’s light it up.

  1. I like your dream, I have a similar dream.

    • I believe that many of us do, I hope to count you in when we start to move forward this coming EMS year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

