Hope

Hope. It is the quintessential human delusion, simultaneously the source of your greatest strength, and your greatest weakness. – The Architect.

Now isn’t this the truth?

Is it delusional when a kid wakes up thinking he’s going to revolutionize rock and roll? Of course it is, most of us would say, but what if we were talking to the next Jimi Hendrix, Jimmy Page or even Kurt Cobain? Does someone have to be delusional to achieve it just because of so many people that are going to oppose you?

I have thought many times that I would write the novel that saves America, or at the very least the novel that revolutionizes EMS. So I often throw a lot of work at a few paragraphs, I have even designed my cover and title. I have the two quotes I am going to start the book with, and I know how it will end.

I also know I am a very critical editor.

I’ve been told I shouldn’t do this. Many times people have told me that I should give whatever I write to someone else to edit it. I know that’s what I should do, but what ends up happening is I read what I have written and then I destroy it. (I think that’s why I like blogging so much, I am almost forcing myself to shoot out the blog so that I can’t spend days and days editing.)

I have Hope. I have Hope and that’s what keeps me plugging away at these keys. Typing. Editing. Posting blogs, responding to posts. In fact it’s the firm hope that I’m doing good out there that keeps me going in EMS too. Let’s face it, many times we are not really sure if we do much for those critical patients we get. But I Hope that at the very least I have introduced a sense of calm by my arrival. Something, anything to make the worst day of someone else’s life just a little more bearable.

Hope is the greatest strength and our greatest weakness. I say we consider it our greatest weakness and even if it turns out to be a phenomenal failure we at least had a great ride.

So is there anything you guys hope for? You hope to be the next director of your EMS company, you hope to write the next bestselling music single? What about something really out there, what is it that you dream about? Let me know. I will tell you more of my dreams and aspirations if you tell me some of yours.

  1. July 8th, 2012

Leave a Reply

