Just unplug once in a while.

It really is good to sometimes just unplug. There are many things going on all the time sometimes it’s hard, believe me I know. For us in EMS sometimes the ways we unplug are not the healthiest. There’s always the alcohol that seems to infect every social gathering, there’s the going out to eat that is never as healthy as we intend. Sometimes our lives take unexpected turns and it gets hard to just relax.

Word of advice, you have to do it.

You have to unplug or risk becoming someone different. It won’t look like it initially, you won’t feel it happening, but it will. You will become a different person than you are. You might become crankier with the kids, snap quicker with a patient, get frustrated with a boss. Whatever it starts to do to you it makes your outlook change and then it’s hard to get back on track.

I’m not saying I have it down. I’m not saying I’m an expert, sometimes after a hard day of work I get cranky. I have had the occasion of coming home and being slightly short tempered with my children or wife.

It happens.

We all have to figure out how we can de-stress and recharge. Some take up exercising. I keep telling myself I’m going to take this up too, just hasn’t happened yet. In fact I’m in the process of getting a membership to a local gym. Sure hope I don’t start dropping money there and don’t use it. Maybe I will keep you guys updated and somehow get motivated to at least not be a lazy slob in front of my readers.

Yesterday I took my family out to a small outing at the beach. Let me tell you that even though we had our little problems, minor irritations when the kids wouldn’t listen, slightly bigger irritations when I found out how much I was spending for lunch (thanks a lot menu with no prices on their drinks), I still consider it a huge success.

There are moments from yesterday that I think will stay with me for a long time. The day was perfect, the weather was nice and the water was warm.

Beach five

I have never really considered myself a beach person, but yesterday the feeling was infectious. South Padre Island is usually not as packed during the summer as it does get during spring break, and believe me I won’t be taking my children there during that. With it being the weekend after 4th of July and summer in full swing it was still pretty populated. There were all sorts of things going on, from the banana boat taking people out to sea and dropping them every single time I saw them, to sky divers landing a few yards from where we had our chairs and umbrella.

My kids obviously loved the water and it always amazes me how much enjoyment children can get from the most mundane thing. You can give them a huge present and they play with the box, you give them a toy and they use it, but to imagine something totally different. I give you a beach, my children find digging in the sand for animals was their highlight!

Beach two

Don’t get me wrong, once I showed them how we could walk out into the beach and jump over waves they were all over it. My Little One, that’s what I call my daughter, would hang on to me for dear life as the waves would roll us over them, but then a kiss on my cheek would make any sand I tasted because of the water feel like fine wine.

They say that having children and raising them is not the happiest times of an adult life, but that there are moments of such pure joy that the bad parts are covered over by those memories. I have to agree with that, my kids can be a handful, but when they show little signs of complete love and trust it floors you.

Beach three

I have also taken up a bit of photography as a side hobby and so far enjoy shooting clouds a great deal, I think I would really love to shoot portraits of people but it is far harder to get people to not be self-conscious in front of a camera. If it wasn’t for family and responsibility I think I would really enjoy shooting a major storm making landfall here at South Padre Island. The few clouds I would see would give me a glimpse of the magnitude a major storm would bring.

Why do we sometimes find beauty in the most destructive? Awe in the fear inspiring?

IMG_0321

Beach four

Don’t get me wrong, the medic in me would still materialize. I would still keep my kids as close as possible thinking that any wave could potentially take them out to sea. Like any kids they would test the boundaries of how far they could go and I would have to resist my wanting to yell at them when they went too far. When my two children and my niece proclaimed, “this is the best day of summer,” I knew I had done my job.

I had a great time at the beach with the family and hope to do it again soon.

As we grow up, we learn that even the one person that wasn’t supposed to ever let us down, probably will. You’ll have your heart broken and you’ll break others’ hearts. You’ll fight with your best friend or maybe even fall in love with them, and you’ll cry because time is flying by. So take too many pictures, laugh too much, forgive freely, and love like you’ve never been hurt. Life comes with no guarantees, no time outs, no second chances. you just have to live life to the fullest, tell someone what they mean to you and tell someone off, speak out, dance in the pouring rain, hold someone’s hand, comfort a friend, fall asleep watching the sun come up, stay up late, be a flirt, and smile until your face hurts. Don’t be afraid to take chances or fall in love and most of all, live in the moment because every second you spend angry or upset is a second of happiness you can never get back.
– Unknown

*All pictures were shot with a Canon t3i. I did very minor editing with Lightroom. I am adding this because I am using two different blogs and this one will not only go on my EMS site but also on my http://tylercaulfield.wordpress.com/ site. *

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

