So it begins

So it begins, my journey towards obtaining my Flight Paramedic Certification has commenced. If I learned one thing after these last three days of hardcore review it is that I have so much to learn.

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.

-Socrates

I am going to be studying for the next month or so and then will attempt to pass it. We were taught by Clinical Analysis Management and I have to say it was one of the most educational 3 days of my career. Not to say that I haven’t had other great courses in my EMS career, but let me say that even though half of the information was way above my head (not to mention scope of practice) the other half was still so educational I am not kidding when I say it is going to have a significant effect on my future patient care. The class was taught by Anthony Baca, (MBA, MSNc, RN, LP, CCRN, CFRN, FP-C) and Traci Shortt, (MBA, BSN, RN, CCRN (Adult), CFRN).

Now let me say that if I had been notified of the subject matter that we would be covering, in other words if I had been told to review everything I have ever learned about EMS and learn all laboratory analysis and interpretation, I would have been much better suited to take this class. As it was I think conservatively I was able to keep up with about half of the information that they were giving. I was recording the lectures and am going to be reading up on a lot of the information in the ASTNA Patient Transport textbook. Hopefully that and then listening to all the lectures again will be sufficient to pass the exam.

If any of you are able to attend one of their classes or hear them lecture I highly recommend it. If you can read up on some literature and then attend I think it will be a lot more understandable. They know their stuff, that’s for sure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

