On Humility and Confidence

I firmly believe that to be in EMS you have to develop confidence in yourself. Not only in your skills but also in your decision making. Some believe that our protocols take away our need to make extreme decisions-I firmly disagree. We need to understand what underlies not only our treatment but also the disease or injury process we are fighting. It is vital we know.

Sometimes we have to do things that are hard to do, RSI, IO placement, synchronized cardioversion, for all these things and many more we need confidence. We need to be able to tell ourselves we are doing what gives the patient the best opportunity for survival, even if it’s something scary like a cricothyrotomy.

At the same time I have seen many medics become too confident. Too much confidence breeds cockiness. Too much breeds contempt for the patients we should be treating. I have seen a post recently that says we are here to treat the patient, not judge them. I agree with that.  To combat this we must be humble. We must know that our job is to help, even if it is a mental or behavioral problem. We must help even if it is the patient’s fault.

This is my problem. I need confidence… Because when I need to do something for the patient I need to perform, I need to excel. I need to believe, I need to know I am the best person for the job.

I also need to be humble, lest my cockiness cause an error that hurts my patient.

Good and evil, ying and yang, something I try to work on everyday.

  1. September 27th, 2013
    Trackback from : …vs. confidence | Etymon

Leave a Reply

