Why I became an EMT

I was recently asked why I became an EMT.

In reality I did not know how many people are in business trying to keep other people alive. I got to see first hand what EMS can be, my younger brother had asthma and on more than one occasion I saw how close he was to not being able to breath. I was there when, I assume now but did not know then, my brother was given Epi as multiple nebulizers were failing. The paramedics and emergency personnel were able to deal calmly and efficiently with what was a horrifying event for me and my family. How can someone be so calm in such a hectic situation?

Now I know that inside the medics were probably not very calm. I have been through emergency calls where children are basically gasping during particularly severe asthma attacks. I’m also telling them to stay calm, the oxygen is coming, the medicine is working, their lungs are opening. I know how panicking can send the patient into a worse path and so have to fake my confidence when the medicines are not working as quickly as I would like.

I remember thinking that as the medical personnel arrived our emergency was done. They were here to help. Sometimes I can save someone, anaphylaxis, hypoglycemia, drug overdoses, CVA’s where the people think it’s something completely different. We can slow the situation down enough to provide care and move them to a better, more definitive care location. Sometimes all we can do is tell someone how sorry we are that their loved one has passed away and try to console them as best we can.

Sometimes that’s enough. To try. That’s what led me to EMS, to be the person that tries right at the beginning. So far for me it has been a worthwhile endeavor.

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I’m starting EMT school soon. I want to help someone as they have helped me in my scary situations as well. Thank you again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

